join

PUTTER REVIEW! – Edel DeVincenzo Series 18 {Prototype}

Post image for PUTTER REVIEW! – Edel DeVincenzo Series 18 {Prototype}

Putter Tested: Edel DeVincenzo Series 18 Prototype

“That’s different..I like it”

(Written By: GolfSpy Matt) I know that I’ve got something unique on my hands when I have to revise half of the items on my list of putter features.  Such is the case with the Edel DeVincenzo Series 18.  Where most putters have offset, this putter has onset.  Where most putters have toe hang, this putter balances with its toe straight up.

The putter tested here is actually a prototype for Edel’s upcoming DeVincenzo Series 18 putter.  It weighs in at a beefy 385 grams (the production model will be 395), much of which comes from the tungsten weights that are used to create the “toe up” effect.  While I’m generally not a fan of heavy putters, something about the way that the Edel is balanced makes it swing very easily.  I don’t think anyone in our test group would have guessed its weight had it not been stamped on the face.

When the DeVincenzo Series is launched (expected to be at the PGA Show in Las Vegas), Edel will offer custom length, lie angle, and custom anodized finishes.  The DeVincenzo Series will also be available in belly and long putter configurations.

Putter Features:

  • Aluminum
  • 385 grams
  • 12:00 toe hang, or toe up
  • Torque Balanced
  • Full Shaft+ Onset
  • Lamkin 3Gen Grip

BALL USED: Titleist Pro V1


FEEL

“Responsive” was the single most-used word in describing the feel of the Edel DeVincenzo.  Everyone in the test group felt that the putter offered very clear feedback as to where on the face the putt was struck, which I found unusual and impressive for a high MOI mallet.  Beyond that, the feel of the putter was neither mushy-soft nor clicky.  If pressed, I would say that it was just slightly softer than average.

The production model of the DeVincenzo will offer a Pixl insert, so the feel will be different than the aluminum face tested here.  I have been told that the Pixl insert will create a softer feel.  The biggest advantage of the Pixl insert is that off-center strikes are supposed to travel the same distance as center strikes.

LOOKS

The quote at the outset of this review tends to summarize how our test group felt about the looks of the Edel DeVincenzo.  While not a traditional beauty, it is devoid of wings, claws, handlebars, and all the other things that some putters just plain U-G-L-Y.  In fact, when you ignore the holes (which you will at address, for the most part), the head is a fairly normal shaped mallet.

One thing worth noting about Edel products, for those not familiar with them, is that they are beautifully made.  I think it would be easy for a putter with this many design features to come out looking cheap and poorly made.  This is absolutely not the case here: the DeVincenzo looks like a functional sculpture that someone really poured tremendous time and effort into.

SET-UP & ALIGNMENT

In a stark departure from some of our recently reviewed putters, the Edel DeVincenzo sports three sight lines.  The look is definitely unique because the lines are not continuous from the front of the putter to the back: instead, each line is broken into three segments (topline, from of flange, back of flange).  When I spoke with the Edel representatives at the PGA Show, they informed me that, based on what you aim the best, you can even order the putter with different paintfill variations (ex: middle line painted, two outside lines un-painted).  Alternately, if you have some paint, acetone, and patience, you can do your own experiments to find what you aim the best.

Our test group found the DeVincenzo to be very easy to line up.  The fact that the sight lines were not continuous seemed to help it to appeal to those who don’t like sight lines (me) as well as though who do.   Regardless of their preconceived preferences, everyone in the test group was able to set the DeVincenzo down and quickly knock in some six to ten footers on our practice green.

PERFORMANCE

Performance testing was done by 7 golfers.  The testers were given the putter and asked to hit putts of all lengths (3 to 20 feet).  They were then asked to rate the putter from 1-10 in each of the following categories:

  • Distance Control = 9.3
  • Accuracy = 9.4
  • Sound & Feel = 9
  • Appearance = 8
  • Alignment = 9.6
  • OVERALL = 90.6

FIT FOR STROKE

Don’t change your stroke. Change your putter.

The (FIT FOR STROKE™) concept was developed by PING, yet another genius fitting system they have developed for golfers.  It works hand-in-hand with the iPING Putter App which is highly suggest everyone getting (IT’S FREE!).  You might be surprised to find out that the stroke you think you have isn’t the stroke you actually have.

This addition to the MGS reviews will allow you to become a more consistent putter by matching you with models that better fit your stroke type.  They will be broken down into three categories: (1) Straight – for face balance putters  (2) Slight Arc – for mid toe hang putters  (3) Strong Arc – for toe down putters

“Results from hundreds of player and robot tests at PING offer overwhelming scientific support for the effectiveness of fitting for stroke. In recent years more diagnostic tools and testing equipment have become available, and the results prove that a golfer’s consistency improves when their putter balance matches their stroke type. It was interesting to observe that golfers putt more consistently with stroke-appropriate models, but they also show a personal preference for these models, too. Prior to putting with them, golfers are drawn to models that fit their eye, even before they fit their stroke.” says PING.

The Edel DeVicenzo Series 18 is a: STRAIGHT


OVERALL

For the truly straight-back-straight-through putter who is looking for a putter that just wants to swing square to the target line, the Edel DeVincenzo is going to be a perfect fit.  I could also see it as a happy marriage with someone who just wants to see (onset) and feel (toe up) something different out of a putter.  If either of these sound like you, be on the lookout for an Edel fitter in your area.

 

Review Summary

A
90.60

{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }

Brian April 23, 2012 at 8:05 am

A lot to look at there, not for someone who wants simplicity. Looks a bit like Hogan putter that Jesper Parnevik used to use.

Reply

Golfspy Matt April 23, 2012 at 9:24 am

Brian: Great call, can’t believe I didn’t see that. It’s actually a Bettinardi/Hogan. I even had one.

Reply

wdgolf April 23, 2012 at 9:40 am

I love the looks, but I’m more of a slight arc kind of guy.

Reply

Golfspy Dave April 23, 2012 at 9:50 am

Interesting. Different from the round one I saw at Pebble.
Did you color in the lines at all while playing around with it? If you use a VisaVis pen you can clean off the lines with some water. I think that it would be deadly with the outer lines colored in, preferably with orange.

Reply

nic April 23, 2012 at 6:12 pm

NO ORANGE!!!!!

Reply

Golfspy Dave April 23, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Have you seen my Anser 5 Nic? :)

Reply

Jason Hilton April 24, 2012 at 7:07 am

Yet another A grade review. I haven’t seen anything less than a B+ on this site in a long time. Something smells fishy.

Reply

mygolfspy April 24, 2012 at 8:23 am

Honestly nothing fishy going on…but you are right in the fact that there have been quite a few B+ and A reviews of late.

Their is a few reasons why this has happened:

1. Regarding clubs reviews, there are less and less off-brand clubs to review. And many of the off-brands often don’t send in their equipment to be reviewed. So that means more name brand clubs have been tested of late. And these reviews are all based on data, which if you look at the comparison data ( http://www.mygolfspy.com/compare-clubs/ ) you will see that their is not much difference nowadays from club to club…and most clubs perform pretty well in todays times…so you see very little difference between their scores.

2. Not accepting large OEM ad dollars on MyGolfSpy limits our budget incredibly for purchasing things like a robot for club testing that would allow for even more accurate data. We put together the best system for each category of product we review. These systems were obtained both from our input, industry input and readers input. We continue to improve the process as time goes on and we feel with the resources we have we are doing the best job we can.

3. Over time the site has grown and evolved in many ways. This growth and exposure to some small brands seems to be a little scary at times. And the companies that were once just looking for a little exposure are now often apprehensive of what their final scores might be…which could effect them much more now that we have 250,000 monthly readers. So, regarding gadget reviews it often results in us getting more of the recognized brands to participate.

But we are doing everything we can with the time and resources available to review as much in the market as possible for you guys. But at the end of the day if a company is not willing to have their product reviewed we cannot force them to participate.

Thank you though for the comment we do appreciate it.

Reply

Golfspy Matt April 24, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Not sure if you’re strictly referring to the club reviews, or if you’re including the “gadget” reviews as well, but I’ll add one other thing to MGS’s explanation, just from my personal view:

When I started writing for MyGolfSpy, I wanted to review everything under the sun. This shotgun approach led to a mix of good reviews and bad ones. The thing I quickly learned was that there are only so many hours in the day (particularly given changing life circumstances: new job, baby, etc). As a result, I tend to spend my time seeking out and reviewing products that I have an interest in or that I expect will be good. Does this mean I’m never going to write a bad review? Of course not: sometimes a product that I think is going to be great ends up being lame. Sometimes it’s overpriced. In these cases, a bad review will ensue. However, I have a good bit of experience now and my guesses about what will be good are pretty solid.

If writing for MyGolfSpy were my full time job, I’d go back to reviewing every single golf product out there, and you’d probably see a lot more bad reviews. Until that day comes, consider the fact that the product is even being reviewed something of a “first cut.”

One other thing: if there’s something you want reviewed, email us. We’re here for you, the reader. If there’s something you want to see on MGS, usually all you have to do is ask.

Reply

froneputt April 24, 2012 at 7:17 am

Interesting line in the review: “For the truly straight-back-straight-through putter who is looking for a putter that just wants to swing square to the target line…”

If you are truly SBST, then you are always square to the target, and you get there by a combo of hand manipulation, having a very short putter, or a very short putt. After all, one stands to the side of the ball, so true SBST is tough unless you’re turning the hands.

If your hands are quiet on a long putt, one is square to the arc even on a SBST – because you will have an arc.

Are you’re saying that the putter is extremely stable in terms of resistance to twisting?

By the way, I enjoy Edel Putters, have owned one for three years, and they are extremely well made – it is a true work of craftsmanship. No pretender here …( cough, cough, SC)

Reply

Golfspy Matt April 24, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Good question, though one that opens a very large can of worms (not that I’m unwilling to dive in, just saying).

You are absolutely right in terms of no one being truly SBST. To be truly SBST requires a tremendous manipulation. That said, MANY people feel that they are and won’t be convinced otherwise. That’s point one.

With regard to this putter, the smartest guy I know (with regard to putting and golf, anyway) told me that it’s actually a “reverse rotator” meaning (my paraphrase, advanced apologies to my friend if I get it wrong) that it wants to rotate closed to the arc, then open or, said another way, it wants to stay square to the target throughout the swing. This will suit the guy who’s trying to force that SBST action because that’s what they’re doing anyway.

I hope that clarified the point a bit. If not, let me know and I’ll try again.

Best,

Matt

Reply

Kathy April 25, 2012 at 7:03 pm

I like the simplicity of the design. Great review anyway. :)

Reply

David Williams April 26, 2012 at 8:20 am

Looks like it’s made of Lego.

The Edel fitting procedure from what I can gather is legendary and so are the ‘normal’ putters and wedges (the ones on their website) but what’s with this big push on weird wedges, putters etc?

Reply

Superfluo April 26, 2012 at 3:07 pm

The name is because of the great player Roberto De Vicenzo ? If yes, DeviNcenzo is misspelled.

Reply

Three Guys Golf Blog April 28, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Man I love Edel putters as they be the sweetest looking flat stick out there. With that said, I am not sure this would be the one I would get. Most of the line is so classic looking while this is a touch too modern for me. Performance aside, I need to fall in love.

Reply

Leave a Comment